Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Nobel 2016 in Physics: Gonville & Caius College Cambridge.

2016 David Thouless (Trinity Hall, 1952), Duncan Haldane (Christ’s, 1970) and Michael Kosterlitz (Gonville and Caius, 1962) - Nobel Prize in Physics for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter

© 1986 Am Ang Zhang

The Nobel Prize was established in accordance with the will of Swede, Alfred Nobel – inventor of dynamite and holder of more than 350 patents. Awarded annually since 1901, the Nobel Prize is the first annual international award to recognise achievements in Physics, Medicine, Chemistry, Peace and Literature. Nobel Prizes have been awarded to members of Cambridge University for significant advances as diverse as the discovery of the structure of DNA, the development of a national income accounting system, the mastery of an epic and narrative psychological art and the discovery of penicillin.
Affiliates of University of Cambridge have received more Nobel Prizes than those of any other institution.
  • 95 affiliates of the University of Cambridge have been awarded the Nobel Prize since 1904.
  • Affiliates have received Nobel Prizes in every category, 32 in Physics, 26 in Medicine, 22 in Chemistry, ten in Economics, three in Literature and two in Peace.
  • Trinity College has 32 Nobel Laureates, the most of any college at Cambridge.
  • Dorothy Hodgkin is the first woman from Cambridge to have been awarded a Nobel Prize, for her work on the structure of compounds used in fighting anaemia.
  • In 1950, Bertrand Russell became the first person from Cambridge to receive the Nobel Prize in Literature, for his 1946 work, ‘A History of Western Philosophy’.
  • Frederick Sanger, from St John’s and fellow of King’s, is one of only four individuals to have been awarded a Nobel Prize twice. He received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1958 and 1980.

Other Gonville & Caius College Nobel Laureates: 

2013 Michael Levitt, Gonville and Caius / Peterhouse Colleges, Nobel Prize in Chemistry, for the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems
2008 Roger Y. Tsien, Churchill / Caius Colleges: Nobel Prize in Chemistry, for the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP
2001 Joseph Stiglitz, Caius College: Prize in Economics, for analyses of markets with asymmetric information
1984 Richard Stone, Caius College and fellow of King's College: Prize in Economics, for developing a national income accounting system
1977 Nevill Mott, Caius / St John's Colleges: Nobel Prize in Physics, for the behaviour of electrons in magnetic solids
1974 Antony Hewish, Caius / Churchill Colleges: Nobel Prize in Physics, for the discovery of pulsars
1972 John Hicks, Caius College: Prize in Economics, for the equilibrium theory
1962 Francis Crick, Caius / Churchill Colleges: Nobel Prize in Medicine, for determining the structure of DNA
1954 Max Born, Caius College: Nobel Prize in Physics, for fundamental research into quantum mechanics
1945 Howard Florey, Caius College: Nobel Prize in Medicine, for the discovery of penicillin
1935 James Chadwick, Caius College: Nobel Prize in Physics, for discovering the neutron
1932 Charles Sherrington, Caius College: Nobel Prize in Medicine, for work on the function of neurons

Aug 11, 2013 ... This year's Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine goes to Barry Marshall and Robin Warren, who with tenacity and a prepared mind ...
Jul 26, 2009 ... He was the winner of the Nobel Prize for 2000. In his book In Search Of Memory, he remembered his arrival in New York in 1939 after a year ...

Oct 5, 2015 ... Three scientists from Ireland , Japan and China have won the Nobel prize in medicine for discoveries that helped doctors fight malaria and ...

Oct 9, 2008 ... The three winners of the Nobel Prize for chemistry are (from right) Roger Tsien of the University of California, San Diego; Osamu Shimomura, ...

Mar 3, 2008 ... However, you may be too late to get the Nobel Prize. Rodney Porter in 1972 was awarded the NobelPrize in Medicine for his ground breaking ...

No comments: